Tonya Alexander wins Circuit Judge seat

Tonya Alexander wins Circuit Judge seat

Attorney to replace outgoing Victor Hill on bench Tonya Alexander decisively carried Crittenden County 1,947-514 over Curtis Walker and polled an overall total of 2,283 votes to win the Circuit Judge District 2, Subdistrict 2 race, taking the seat formerly held by Judge Victor Hill and garnering 56.7 percent of the vote. In the Supreme Court Chief Justice position 1 race, Courtney Goodson won the county 3,306-3,150 over Dan Kemp, but it was not enough to win the seat.

Judge Kemp won the race with 279,273 votes to Goodson’s 201,487 statewide total.

Judge Shawn Womack prevailed 3,618-2,401 over Clarke Mason in State Supreme Court Associate Justice Pos. 5 race locally, easily outpolling Mason statewide with 67 percent of the vote.

In the U.S. Senate race, incumbent John Boozman easily prevailed in his primary contest with Curtis Coleman. Boozman captured 249,965 votes compared to Coleman’s 79,510 votes. On the Democratic side of the ticket, Conner Eldridge was the lone candidate for the U.S. Senate race. State Representative Milton Nicks (District 50), State Representative Deborah Ferguson (District 51), and State Representative Monte Hodges (District 55) were all unopposed as well.

Unopposed in the judicial races were District Judge Fred Thorne in the State District Court District 21 race; and Richard Lusby for the Circuit Judge District 2, Division 2 seat.

Winners in each of Tuesday night’s primaries will be on the ballot again when voters head to the polls in the 2016 general election, on Tuesday Nov. 8. The Crittenden County Board of Election Commissioners is expected to meet later this

week to review any provisional ballots and certify the election results.

By Ralph Hardin