Plenty on tap in Marion this Spring

Plenty on tap in Marion this Spring

Thank you to all that attended the Quarterly Luncheon at Funkee’s last Thursday. The program on recycling presented by Don Curran was very interesting. Watch this space for the next luncheon in June.

The Chamber has had a record number of renewals the last two months. Thanks to all of you for renewing again and so quickly! Currently, I’m working on the 2016 Visitors Guide which includes a complete listing of Chamber members. The guide also has space available for advertising by Chamber members only. The guide is a 4”-by-9” brochure size and this year will consist of 24 pages. The printing quantity is 1200 and will be distributed to regional Visitor Centers on I-55 and I-40, local hotels/motels, relocation packets and a number of other outlets. Ad rates start at $125 for a quarter page up to $325 for a full page. This is a very affordable way to advertise to travelers and newcomers to the city. Contact me if you are interested in this advertising opportunity.

The City of Marion was recently named as a finalist for one of the eight prestigious awards presented at the Henry Awards Ceremony during the annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism. Marion was recognized for its efforts to commemorate the Sultana tragedy, the worst maritime disaster in U.S. history, which occurred in 1865.

***

Wednesday, April 6 — ASU Forklift Training, 9:30 a.m.

Thursday, April 7 — Business After Hours at Holly Chevrolet, 5 to 7 p.m.

Friday, April 8 — Opening Reception: Betsy Brackin Burch's In Plain View 5 to 6:30 p.m. (In Plain View collection on display April 8-May 9) Friday, April 15 — Fidelity National Bank, West Memphis Shred Day, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Tuesday, April 19 — How to Start a Small Business in Arkansas Workshop at Delta Cuisine.

Saturday, April 23 — DeltaARTS Art on the Levee at Waverly Plantation, 5 p.m.

Saturday, April 23 — Good Neighbor Center Wii Bowling Tournament, 5:30 p.m.

Saturday & Sunday, April 30 & May 1 — Sultana Heritage Festival.

Wednesday-Saturday, May 4-7 — Esperanza Bonanza, Marion Recreational Complex (Carnival, Backyard BBQ Contest, Rodeo & More).

Friday, May 6 — Social Media Marketing Strategies Workshop at Delta Cuisine.

Saturday, May 14 — Good Neighbor Center Wii Bowling Tournament, 5:30 p.m.

Monday, May 16 — Manual Bookkeeping Tools Workshop at Delta Cuisine.

Tuesday, May 24 — Developing a Business Plan Workshop at Delta Cuisine.

Saturday, June 4 — Small Fry Triathlon 9 a.m until noon at Brunetti Field.

Monday, June 6 — MCOC Golf Tournament – call for sponsorship opportunities, (870) 739-6041.

Tuesday, June 7 — Market Research Workshop at Delta Cuisine.

Calendar of Events

SHARE