MHS Seniors receive Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship

MHS Seniors receive Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship

Class of 2017 scholars earn high honors

Marion School District Marion High School seniors Sarah Burford, Ben Baser and Morgan Masengale have been awarded the Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship. To earn the prestigious scholarship, a senior must have either a 32 composite score on a single ACT or 1410 combined math and critical reasoning score on a single SAT and either a 3.50 academic grade point average or selection as a National Achievement Finalist or National Merit Finalist. Leadership capabilities must also be demonstrated.

The Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship will pay up to $10,000 per year for tuition, mandatory fees, room and board.

The scholarship is disbursed by the institution the student is attending and must be enrolled in at least 15 semester credit hours (12 semester credit hours the fall term of the freshman year) to receive funds for that term.

To receive the Governor’s Scholarship, the student must enroll full-time as an undergraduate student at an eligible public or private college or university in Arkansas in the fall semester immediately following high school graduation.

The Governor’s Distinguished Scholar awards may be renewed for three academic years in addition to the initial award year, provided the Governor’s Distinguished Scholar has maintained a minimum 3.25 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale at the end of each academic year and has completed 27 semester credit hours in the first academic year and 30 semester credit hours per academic year thereafter Burford has maintained a 4.0 (nonweighted) GPA and is a member of Mu Alpha Theta, vice president of the MHS Student Council, a member of the National Honor Society and the Spanish Honor Society, Interact and the state championship volleyball team. In her spare time, Burford said she likes to read and is active in the Marion United Methodist Church and West Memphis First Baptist Church youth groups.

“I wanted to cry when I got the news (about the scholarship),” Burford said. “It pays my way through college.”

She will attend the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville and major in pre-nursing, where she has also been awarded the Arkansas Chancellor’s University of Arkansas Scholarship.

She is the daughter of Brian and Julie Burford of Marion.

Baser has maintained a 4.2 GPA at MHS and is the president of FBLA, a member of the National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, Spanish Honor Society and president of the Student Council.

He is on the tennis team and plays piano and keyboard and Victory Church.

“It is really a relief. It fills the financial gap,” Baser said. “I am very excited about this.”

Baser will attend the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, where he also was awarded the Chancellor’s Scholarship.

He plans to major in engineering.

He is the son of Curt and Rhonda Baser of Marion.

Masengale has maintained a 4.0 (unweighted) GPD and is a member of the National Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta and the Art Club. She is also a member of DBS, a sorority that raises funds for local charitable organizations. In her spare time, she likes to play the piano and read.

In additional the Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship, Masengale was also awarded the President’s Scholarship from Ouachita Baptist College.

“This is a blessing, a God thing,” Masengale said. “It helps me afford college and takes the financial burden off my family.”

Masengale said she will major in biomedical science and minor in chemistry, with plans to attend pharmacy school at UALR. She is the daughter of Jeff and Connie Masengale of Marion.

By Mike Douglas