Posted on

Delta Cruisers Annual 19th Annual Car Show

Club’s candy-colored cars a hit once again with local community


Club’s candy-colored cars a hit once again with local community


The Delta Cruiser’s Club Annual Car Show was a huge success this past Saturday at the courthouse in Marion. This year marked the 19th annual show for the club, which was founded in 1998 by 6 charter members. Although there are now only 3 original members left in the club, there are currently about 30 members who continue to keep the tradition alive.

One of the unique aspects of the Delta Cruiser’s Club is that you don’t have to be a member to enter the event. Actually, members of the club bring out their beautiful candy-colored works of art just as a show of support and are not allowed to compete. The event is family oriented and welcomes car enthusiasts of all ages to come out and enjoy the display of classic vehicles.

Despite the unpredictable weather in Arkansas, the Delta Cruiser’s Club has never had to cancel a show. Whether it’s scorching hot or freezing cold, the show

See CAR SHOW, page A2

A “goat” will eat anything!

Photo by Don Wilburn CAR SHOW

From page A1

always goes on. The club always tries to schedule the event on Mother’s Day when the weather is still cool. Luckily this year, Mother Nature herself cooperated once again for a fantastic day of showcasing classic cars.

Several awards were given out at this year’s show, including Best of Show, which went to Tom Benson from Heber Springs, AR for his 1970 Satellite Roadrunner. Other winners included Jill Rhyne for Best Engine (1960 El Camino), Zach Webb for the Teen Award (1963 Ford F100), Shawn Rhyne for Best Paint (1971 Camaro), and Bill Townsend for Best Interior (1963 Chevy II Nova).

In addition to these awards, the Darwin Albritton Memorial was presented to Jim Mullins from Olive Branch, MS for his 1983 GMC pickup. The largest club participating in the show was the Memphis Street Rods, with 20 entries.

Congratulations to all the winners and participants for another successful year.

Photos by Don Wilburn

Scroll Up